Big Blue Football Players Receive Awards

The team had its football banquet on Wednesday, weeks after feasting on Marblehead for Thanksgiving.


The following awards were announced by Swampscott football coach Steve Dembowski:


Outstanding Offensive and Defensive Players of AWAY Games

Presented by Exit Realty Beatrice Associates


Game                                                Offense                        Defense

SOMERVILLE                        Robert Serino                         Brendan McDonald/ Shicoren Adams

LYNN ENGLISH                        Patrick Dennis                        Chris Carmen

TRITON                                    Josh Rothwell                        Nathan Raustad           

DANVERS                                    Tim Costin                        David Carrasco

GLOUCESTER                        Corey Carmody            Toby Hale                    

Outstanding Offensive and Defensive Players of HOME Games

Presented By, Cassidy Insurance


Game                                                Offense                        Defense

WINTHROP                                    Ben Faulkner                         Jerry Walsh

REVERE                                    Justin Chasse                        Justin Nestor

MALDEN                                    Alex Powell                        Aidan Brawley

SALEM                                    Aaron Cronin                        Michael Lan           

BEVERLY                                    Michael Faia                        Gabe Golden

MARBLEHEAD                        Brian Santry                        Mark Rittiboon/Ryan January

Thomas F. Quinn Insurance Award – Outstanding Student-Athlete - Ben Friedman

Peter Oppenheim Award – Outstanding Commitment to the Football Team

Jessica & Bernard Newman – Newman’s Bakery

Freshman Team – Most Improved Player - Jason Brenner

Freshman Team – Defensive MVP -  Dante Ceccarelli

Freshman Team – Offensive MVP - Tristan Bradley 

Freshman Team – Team MVP - Devon Wall

Junior Varsity Most Improved Player - Jason Dignan

Junior Varsity Team – Unsung Hero - Ryan Cresta

Henry Bedard Award – Outstanding Junior Varsity Player - Devin Conroy 

Coaches Award for Commitment - Jared Gordinas

Earl Gallop Memorial Award – Outstanding Receiver - Josh Rothwell   Henry Legere Award – Sprit and Dedication - Alex Powell

David Coughlin Award – Loyalty, Dedication & Determination

Brendan McDonald, Toby Hale, Ben Faulkner, Tim Costin & Justin Nestor

Carl A. Ackerman Award – Outstanding Character and Commitment - Mike Lan   Stephen Johnson Memorial Award- Outstanding Courage - Toby Hale  

Dean Janian 12th Player Award- Gabe Golden

Charles “Red” Hoffman Award – Unsung Hero - Patrick Dennis / Bobby Bradley  

Tony Paradise Award – Outstanding Player in the Thanksgiving Day Game - Robert Serino

Tom Toner Memorial Award – Outstanding Defensive Lineman - Peter Sheehan


William J. McGettrick Memorial Offensive Lineman Award - Chris Carman


Bertrand G. Roger Leadership Award - Brian Santry


Special Teams Player of the Year - Brendan McDonald


Terry Fitzgerald Memorial – Determination/Defensive MVP – David Carrasco/Mark Rittiboon

2012 Big Blue Football Offensive MVP - Aaron Cronin/Josh Rothwell


2012 Big Blue Football Team MVP - Brian Santry


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »