Swampscott High Has 7 Commended Students in National Merit Program

The students will be recognized at tonight's School Committee meeting.


Principal, Layne Millington, of Swampscott High School announced today that Zachary Fidler, Aristana Scourtas, Elana Feldman, Philip Cherner, Jaqueline Thomson, Zachary Blonder and Patrick Burkett have been named commended students in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program.  

A letter of commendation will be presented to these students by the Swampscott Public Schools' Superintendent, Dr. Lynne Celli, at tonight's school committee meeting.        

About 34,000 commended students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise; these students have placed among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2013 competition by taking the Preliminary SAT National Merit Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).  

The NMSC spokesmen commented that, "The young people recognized as Commended Students represent some of the best and brightest minds in the country...," a sentiment fully shared by Swampscott's principal.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »