.

Elizabeth Warren Is For People Like Me

A college student from Swampscott urges voters to support Elizabeth Warren for US Senate.

Letter to the Editor

Swampscott Patch

July 3, 2012 

I’m a student, a woman, a daughter, a neighbor, a public high school graduate, a granddaughter, an unpaid intern.  Elizabeth Warren, the Democrat running for Senate, is dedicated, ambitious, strong, and inspiring.  If elected, she will fight for me, you, Swampscott, and Massachusetts.

I’m a student about to enter my junior year of college. Elizabeth has stressed the extreme importance of education.  A public school and college graduate turned Harvard professor understands why great teachers and a great education are an important right, not privilege, which everyone should have access to.

I am protective of my rights as a young woman.  While her opponent has cosponsored a bill that would deny birth control to thousands of women, Elizabeth Warren has taken a strong stance for protecting fundamental female rights.

Elizabeth has spent most of her life working against Wall Street greed, trying to protect the rights of ordinary Americans, like you and me, who can’t pay lobbyists to represent them in Washington.

I know there are many people out there who are just like me: students worried about paying off their college loans, women worried about losing their rights as women, neighbors worried the toddler next door will still be paying for mistakes made when I was in high school when they are grown up.

I’m supporting Elizabeth this November because she’ll do everything in her power as senator to support me.

Katie Genoversa-Wong

brian condon July 09, 2012 at 07:32 PM
Lexi Your comment priveleges have been suspended
Lenny July 09, 2012 at 07:35 PM
Brian, The decaf has helped, except I can't seem to rub the sand out of my eyes. Buying foreclosed properties is a good thing. It props up neighborhoods, strenghthens values, etc. It is just that Ms Warren rails against others flipping mortgages and properties. I don't think there is anything wrong with what she did, it just that she would find something wrong with it if I did it. First the banks were "red-lining", so the government decides to intervene in the market to force lenders to lend to people who were clearly credit risks. Then when housing collapsed, it was no longer red-lining that was the problem, it then became predatory lending. The same cabal of leftist do-gooders who complained that banks weren't loaning money to poor people were the same people who complained that banks lent money to poor people. And for all you people out there who still think the problem was that banks weren't regulated enough, you have it all backwards. It was because the banks were over regulated...forced by the government to offer risky loans, that the housing bubble occured. Remember over-regulation caused the meltdown, not lack of regulation.
brian condon July 09, 2012 at 08:07 PM
All good points, but in the final analysis, it is a matter of opinion. I may be wrong, but I thuoght that Clinton(another EPS victim) had deregulated the banking industry to allow them to , in effect , have greater latitude to make the risky loans in the 90's . But I am old and forgetful
Lexi July 09, 2012 at 08:28 PM
Thanks again to you brian as well, when the left see's something they don't like let's just suspend their privilege to comment. Sounds reasonable to me, all you have to do is let the libs keep talking and they eventually reveal themselves for who they really are.
Lenny July 09, 2012 at 08:34 PM
Clinton & Congress removed Glass/Steigal restrictions that prevented banks from becoming investment firms. The Community Reinvestment Act was strengthened by the gov backing mortgages (Fannie and Freddie) that banks would have normally considered risky (20% deposit not needed, credit checks not needed, etc). The banks were still not comfortable with such loans on their books, despite gov guarantees, so they packaged them, along with other investment products, as mortgage back securities, that they let loose in the market because they were now allowed to operate as investment firms. As far as the banks were concerned, it turned out they got away with it because the government did back up the risky loans as promised, with a taxpayer bailout. Although most of the blame can be laid on the head of President Carter in the first instance, and then Frank and Dodd, the fact is that President Bush enjoyed touting that home ownership expanded quicker during his administration than it ever had in the past. So Bush carries a portion of the blame (that is my gift to the liberals reading these posts) I guess it was only the Libertarians who can say truthfully that they warned against intervening in the market. It pains me to admit it, but Ron Paul had been right about the pending housing bubble when he first started warning about it in the mid-eighties. We over-regulated the banks, we told them how to loan money and to whom, and then we told them we would back the risk.
brian condon July 09, 2012 at 08:36 PM
Welllllllllll, suppression of free speech is really a dictatorial fascist approach....sort of Bush era reaction to ugly news. Unless the babble you are hoping to quell is sort of the Glen Beck Rushbo version of their distorted news reporting.......then it is a very humane response...for the rest of us easily led sheep
brian condon July 09, 2012 at 08:51 PM
Lenny Very well presented....there is a small herd of qualified guilty parties. Good research.
Lexi July 09, 2012 at 09:17 PM
Please keep talking brian, boy this is turning out to be a great day.
brian condon July 09, 2012 at 11:06 PM
Lexi You remain on suspension
Bridget Russo July 10, 2012 at 12:23 PM
Yes - as the obvious logic follows, since I do not like the Herald, I am proud that I have something in common with Elizabeth Warren, therefore I have native american blood in me. Unlike Warren though, I belong to a different tribe called the I-dont-like-the-Herald tribe. I don't much care for the Globe either which puts me in the I-listen-to-wbur minority. I'm hoping that will give me the edge I need to get into Berkley someday so that I can finally ditch the workclothes (and the God-awful commute over the Tobin), wear my birkenstocks proudly and picket to my hearts content.
brian condon July 10, 2012 at 01:14 PM
Bridget Get your news on Comedy Central! You would be pleasantly surprised how spot ion the analysis can be. Stewart and Colbert get right to the issues with satire and irony. And you do not get that messy ink all over your fingers
Bridget Russo July 10, 2012 at 01:32 PM
I dvr the Daily Show - John Oliver is my all time favorite reporter =)
brian condon July 10, 2012 at 04:43 PM
Bridget You are in a good place.
AC995 July 12, 2012 at 02:05 AM
Why do you feel the need to criticize this young woman for simply writing an informative and interesting letter on something she strongly believes in. As another young adult interested and involved in politics if this ever happened to me I would be incredibly disappointed that no one really supported their claim with evidence. Rather than condemning her for speaking her mind you should be happy that a young adult is taking an initiative to get involved in the politics of this all so incredible country. Instead of supporting her or simply showing her articles that she should read to inform her more on the subject, you attack her mercilessly. You should have been an adult and been polite about it. Now I understand some people have been polite but to those who haven't been you should be ashamed and realize you're the reason many kids are becoming turned off to politics. Please rethink the way you have acted and maybe the next young adult will not be as bombarded with insults as this intellectual young woman has been. Thank you for time and please less rude.
brian condon July 12, 2012 at 03:56 AM
AC996 There were many of this extended chat who supported her and gave her credit for stating her beliefs. The anger level however was a hiip shot from a scatter gun. As much as we disagree with them , they are afforded their moments in the sun. The sarcasm, and bluster were a bit overdone
Alex July 12, 2012 at 11:50 AM
Taking into an account that most of impolite posts had been from the people who DID agree with her and that very few of those disagreeing with her criticized her personally, you complaint seems to be off mark.
Alex July 12, 2012 at 11:51 AM
Your self-criticism is duly appreciated. :-)
brian condon July 12, 2012 at 02:14 PM
Cute
Bill Carson July 14, 2012 at 11:21 AM
Professor Elizabeth Warren started her campaign last year arriving by limo at the Broadway T stop and said she'll be actively courting the "hick" vote in Boston. Elizabeth has a net worth of almost 8 million dollars and a large stock profile. She associates herself with the general public with her Indian background. At several news events Gov. Patrick had to help her answer questions.The professor has taken as long as three months to answer questions from the news media. -NO vote for me.
Iron Mike July 15, 2012 at 07:16 PM
Hello Katie, You are overlooking KEY FACTS. They can be stubborn things. Life is tough; - always has been. I hope your parents taught you to weigh, evaluate, and choose wisely. What you do with life’s opportunities and risks is YOUR business, not ours - and NOT the government's. It is NOT the job of the government to guarantee you a risk-free/debt-free soft landing. If school will leave you with unacceptable debt, - re-evaluate. Your 'rights' as a woman should be no different than ANY other person here. If you want a baby-free active sex life - pay the price. There are options. BUT, if you want to kill an unborn child - don’t expect US to pay for it. Be PREPARED to live with a lifetime of guilt. Mz. Warren is a horrible candidate - like so many Mass Democrats over the years. She lied for over 20 years about being a Cherokee, - JUST added the Delaware to the mix. For 20 years there have been claims of fudged 'facts' in the book she wrote with Teresa A. Sullivan. Sullivan JUST RESIGNED as Prez of UnivVA. Warren railed against Wall Street banks foreclosing homes, - as she and her family were flipping foreclosed homes. That's called hypocrisy! Do you want ANOTHER Mass hypocrite like Ted Kennedy in the Senate? She and hubby make over $550. Hardly middle class! Katie, it’s time to re-evaluate. Character, reputation, and credentials DO matter. Warren’s are all flawed at best, some totally phony.
brian condon July 15, 2012 at 08:01 PM
Iron Mike Save your testosterone for another target. Your lecture to Katie is very stale as it tries to revive issues that were hotly discussed last week. Yawn! Are you just emerging from a coma?
Citizen Swamp July 15, 2012 at 09:19 PM
BC, Facts are a terrible thing to waste. Right on Iron Mike! CS
brian condon July 15, 2012 at 10:04 PM
CS Agreed. Let's turn the page and focus on more current exciting stuff, like 41 condos on the highest point in town, and stop calling the old building the middle school. It was Swampscott High! Elizabeth Warren may be in favor of the low income housing units proposed for that development . Her spokesperson has not yet commented.
Citizen Swamp July 15, 2012 at 10:16 PM
BC, For the sake of argument. What if an individual bought the "old high school" parcel and put forth plans to build a 15, 000 square foot mansion, with a steeple as high as the current building, an outdoor swimming pool and a garage facility capable of storing 15 vintage autos. I'll bet the neighbors would be ticked at that also. Not in keeping with character of the neighborhood, etc. The Board of Selectmen spec'd out this RFP with plenty of opportunity for public input. Move forward, this property will be developed, and Groom has put forth a great looking concept. CS
Iron Mike July 15, 2012 at 10:19 PM
Who anointed YOU the referee? Pocahontas?
brian condon July 15, 2012 at 10:51 PM
The law requires certain review processes. The proposed development must conform to the rules as interpreted by the boards who are considering the proposal . Not sure how flexible the laws allow them to be. Should be a lot of sturm und drank on the horizon Thanks for moving us forward with this topic
Alex July 16, 2012 at 11:26 AM
It is actually "sturm und DRANG" :-)
Alex July 16, 2012 at 11:32 AM
She does not have any say on this issue: AFAIK, she is not Swampcostt citizen and she is NOT (at least so far) our senator. If she is so anxious to do something ..er.. "for the poor", she can donate them her own mansion. Why this (or any other expensive) slot has to be selected for low income units is
brian condon July 16, 2012 at 01:22 PM
Thanks! My auto spell check has a real problem with German. The point remains that a lot of noise will surround this continued review. It could be a while, and the results are far from certain. Have a great week Alex
Alex July 16, 2012 at 03:20 PM
This is approximately my extend of the German (I also know "dreck" and "schweinhund" but that's pretty much it) so it is not like I'm much better. :-) You are most probably right about the whole brouhaha with this condo and it seems that the neighbors want some goodies from a constructor (dealing with the water issue, etc.) while being unwilling to provide him with enough profit margin to deliver these goodies. Some of the fears related to condos that I read so far are seemingly based on a total ignorance of the issue. OTOH, if this will be an "affordable housing" project, most of the fears expressed may prove to be on optimistic side. Have a good week

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something