Big Blue Cross-Country Awards

The Big Blue XC team handed out its end of season awards last week.

The Swampscott High School Cross-Country team held their end of the season banquet last week. Part celebration and part reunion, the annual banquet was put on by the Swampscott XC/Track Boosters and attended by team members and their families.

The following awards were handed out at the banquet by head coach Jeff Bartlett and assistant coaches Joe Tenney and Lauren Skelton:

Outstanding Newcomer Award: Presented to an outstanding newcomer who has positively impacted the Big Blue XC program in their first season on the team: Miranda Nocera (freshman) and Bennett Smith (sophomore)

Most Improved Award: A tough award to pick based on the numerous improvements on both teams. Awarded to runners who have improved dramatically since the beginning of the current season or since last season: Rachel Moran (senior) and Noah Conti (junior)

Coach’s Award: Selected by the coaching staff, this award recognizes student athletes who exemplify the mission of Big Blue XC and Swampscott High School. These athletes are leaders on the team and in the community, and represent the best of what Swampscott High School Athletics stands for: Steph Collins (senior) and Sam Crimmins (senior)

Unsung Hero Award: Awarded to runners who have performed valuably “in the trenches” for the team, often doing important work in races without seeking attention or self-glory. Their sacrifices and performances for the team have helped to lead Big Blue XC in a positive direction, and this award is to reward them for consistent effort, day in and day out, for the benefit of the team: Allison Carr (junior) and Matt Mahoney (junior)

Team Spirit Award: Awarded to a runner whose positive mental attitude, spirited nature, and joy help contribute to a positive team environment. These leaders not only help the team with their hard work ethic, but also with their upbeat attitude, love for the sport, and enthusiasm: Kelsey Lombard (junior) and Marco Scibelli (junior)

The Ken Klatka Bearcat Award: Awarded to a runner who, in the spirit of Coach Bartlett’s college track coach (Ken Klatka of Springfield College) runs “bearcat” workouts and races. This runner digs down deep to find that extra morsel of strength when needed, for coming through in the clutch on behalf of his or her teammates, and for discovering that running for something bigger than oneself brings out the best performances in sport: Caitlyn Ludke (senior)

The Senior Leadership Award: Awarded to those who are dedicated to their teammates and who have continuously demonstrated leadership traits. These seniors put their team above themselves and serve as role-models for younger student athletes on and off the trails, all while remaining positive, hard-working, and selfless: Emma Walsh (senior) and Meg Wynne (senior)

Most Valuable Runner Award: The MVR award is given to the top runner from each team. The accomplishments of these runners place them towards the top of the Northeast Conference, EMASS Division Five, and even the State. These runners are humble, and do not gloat about their accomplishments: Isabella Kornitsky (freshman) and Peter Hale (senior)

Please watch the brief video below for pictures, clips, and information about our award winners! Please follow Swampscott Cross-Country on Twitter and check out our team website!

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »